Book Review: A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger

★★★☆☆ (3.5/5stars)

Kody Keplinger’s stories may be typical in their plot formats, but they stand out somehow with her unique writing. Her writing really captures the essence of troubled teenagers and I feel myself relating to them really well, even if I am nothing like them, I am a teenager too. The fucks, bitches, whores, may take a while to get used to, but I slowly accepted it. Because… that’s how teenagers speak. Duh.

I have mixed feelings about this book. Maybe because Whitley was so crazy in the beginning and I really didn’t know what to think of her. At times, I wanted to grab her shoulders and holler into her ear, saying “LOOK HERE YOU STUPID GIRL WHAT ARE YOU DOING STOP DRAGGING YOURSELF INTO THIS MESS”!

I also felt that her attitude really pissed me off, but I understood it… because I relate to her situation with her parents etc.

This is pretty realistic in terms of the whole family thing, and I think I really gave my heart to Whitley for that. I also really liked Nathan because he was such a cute dork, and Harrison (who I didn’t expect to show up in this book)! He was so nice to Whitley and I’m glad we got to see more of him, because he was only mentioned in the passing in The Duff. In terms of the romance, you could say that it’s very unrealistic, but at least it was written well.
Having a one-night-stand with a boy at a graduation party, taking his virginity, and becoming his stepsister is
very unlikely. But it was definitely fun and hilarious to read about. I had a lot of “Oh my god” moments while reading this.

Lastly, I thought that Kody Keplinger manages to capture the personalities of troubled teenagers well, but Bianca and Whitley are nothing alike. They may seem like it at first, but I went back to re-read The Duff, and they definitely are different. Bianca has friends, she’s accepting, she’s sarcastic, but she’s soft. Whitley is just plain hard and it takes forever to crack that shell of hers. The way that Bianca and Whitley described Hamilton was so different, that I didn’t even realize it was the same setting. Bianca never really mentioned it’s “boring-ness” but Whitley really brought it out and made me sort of see the town in a different light.

All in all, I felt that Keplinger brought out her writing well in this novel, even if it wasn’t a stellar one!

Leave a Reply

